The Revenue Division bills and collects property tax for 31 taxing authorities (county, cities, school board, hospitals and state).
Property taxes become due and payable on Nov. 1 of each year and become delinquent April 1 of the following year. Tax bills are mailed to the most current owner and address of record. If you own property in Volusia County and fail to receive a tax bill in November, please contact one of our offices.
It is the property owner’s responsibility to know that taxes are due and payable annually, and to pay them before April 1 of the year following the year in which taxes are assessed. Click here to view the Florida Statute regarding tax liens and the owner’s responsibility to pay.
Nov. 1 – tax bills mailed
March 31 – deadline for tax deferral application
March 31 – last day for tax payment to be postmarked or paid in person or online without penalty
April 30 – deadline for new applications for installment plan
Discount periods for early payment
- 4% discount for payments postmarked or made in person in the month of November.
- 3% discount in December.
- 2% discount in January
- 1% discount in February
- Gross tax amount in March
When the last day of a discount period falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the discount period shall be extended for all payments brought in person to our office the next working day.
Property Tax information is available 24 hours a day. Customers may search public tax information and/or pay property taxes online.
Online Payment Options Include:
- E-check – a $1.50 convenience fee is charged by our third-party payment processor.
- Credit or Debit Card – a 2.6% convenience fee is charged by our third-party payment processor. Payments can be made with Discover, MasterCard, Visa and American Express.
Check by mail:
County of Volusia
123 W. Indiana Ave., Room 103
DeLand, FL 32720
Click here for tag office locations where property tax payments are accepted.
Payment made in person may be in the form of:
- Personal check (current tax payments only)
- Cashier's check
- Money order
- Debit card (convenience fee of $1.50 charged by the payment processing company)
- Credit card (convenience fee of 2.6% with $1.75 minimum charged by the payment processing company).
The certified property tax roll records contained on this site reflect property ownership as of the date of certification, and may not reflect current ownership. The most current ownership information can be obtained from the Volusia County Property Appraiser. Please note: Accuracy of the information provided on this website is not guaranteed for title searches and closing agents