UF/IFAS Extension Volusia County

boy with baby goat tomato on vine big brown cow on pasture with stormy clouds in the background

Subscribe to our mailing lists:

About the Extension

From energy conservation to raising better tomatoes and helping youngsters develop self-esteem, the University of Florida/ Volusia County Extension offers a wealth of practical information for today’s families.

Through a partnership among Volusia County, the University of Florida and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the Extension Service can provide assistance with such community issues as water conservation, environmental protection, family health and nutrition, youth development and economic stability for Volusia's commercial agricultural enterprises.

The extension service is an off-campus educational branch of the University of Florida. Extension agents, who serve as the county's "teachers," reach more than 2 million people each year through presentations, telephone calls, lab diagnoses, pamphlets and other outreach programs.

This real-life learning approach, established in 1914 by the federal Smith-Lever Act, is one of the world's largest informal education and developmental organizations.

All University of Florida/IFAS/Volusia County Extension classes and programs abide by ADA requirements.

Visit our University of Florida IFAS / Volusia County BLOG Page:
https://blogs.ifas.ufl.edu/volusiaco/

EDIS Website:
http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/

County health survey
Please take this five-minute County health survey. Your opinions will help decision makers create a healthier place to live in Volusia and Flagler counties.

Upcoming events

Growing Strawberries in the Home Garden
10 a.m. to noon Saturday, Oct. 12, 2019
Volusia County Agriculture Center, 3100 E. New York Ave., DeLand
Pre-order form

Pesticide Licensing CEU Day
8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 31, 2019
Volusia County Agricultural Center

Map and directions
Take I-4 west and use Exit 118 to get onto State Road 44 (East New York Avenue), heading east. After about a quarter-mile, you'll see our office on the right.

Hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Contact Us

University of Florida / IFAS Extension
Volusia County
3100 E. New York Ave.
DeLand, FL 32724

386-822-5778  DeLand
386-257-6012  Daytona Beach
386-423-3368  New Smyrna Beach

Sharon Gamble, M.S.
County Extension Director
Livestock
sfoxgamble@volusia.org

Dennis Mudge, M.S.          
Agriculture/Natural Resources Agent
dmudge@volusia.org

Lisa Hamilton, B.A.
Extension Agent
Family and Consumer Sciences
lhamilton@volusia.org

Laura Cash, B.S.
4-H and Youth Development Agent
lcash@volusia.org

Karen Stauderman, M.S.
Extension Agent
Commercial Horticulture
kstauderman@volusia.org

Joe Sewards, M.S.
Extension Agent
Urban Horticulture/Master Gardener Coordinator
jsewards@volusia.org

Patrick Zayas, B.S.
Program Manager
Family Nutrition Program
pzayas@volusia.org

Lisa A. Valentine, A.A.
Program Assistant
Family Nutrition Program
lvalentine@volusia.org

Patti Young
Program Assistant
Family Nutrition Program
pyoung@volusia.org

Brittany Payne, B.S.
Program Assistant
Family Nutrition Program
bpayne@volusia.org


 

uf extension logo


Director
Sharon Gamble
sgamble@volusia.org

West Volusia
386-822-5778

Daytona Beach
386-257-6012

New Smyrna Beach
386-423-3368

Fax
386-822-5767

 
Mission: The University of Florida/Volusia County Extension partners with communities to provide quality, relevant education and research-based expertise to foster healthy people, environments and economies.