FAQs - Building permits
Q. Why do I need a permit?
A. The Florida Building Code (101.3) states that the “code is to establish the minimum requirements to safeguard the public health, safety and general welfare through structural strength… and to provide safety to fire fighters and emergency responders during emergency operations”.
Q. When is a permit required?
A. Per Florida Building Code (102.2), a permit shall apply to the construction, erection, alteration, modification, repair, equipment, use and occupancy, location, maintenance, removal and demolition of every public and private building, structure or facility or floating residential structure, or any appurtenances connected or attached to such buildings, structures or facilities.
Q. How much will my permit cost?
A. The cost of a permit varies depending on the permit type. Fee schedule is available on our web site.
Q. What happens if I choose not to obtain the required permits?
A. Building and Zoning Code Compliance will issue an advisory notice. Once a permit is obtained, the cost will be double for an After the Fact permit. Additionally, there may be fees for a third party engineering analysis if areas of work are concealed. If no action is taken, a Notice of Violation will be issued and could result in fines being levied.
Q. Do I need a contractor?
A. Not if you own and occupy the house. State statutes (489.103(7) allow the owners of real property to act as their own contractor. This exemption may only be used if you own and occupy the home. As an owner builder though, if you do not complete all of the work yourself, you must supervise the work, and hire licensed trade subcontractors (electrician, plumbing, a/c, and roof) in accordance with state law. Owners acting as their own contractor or listed as a subcontractor are required to personally appear and sign the permit application per Florida Statute 489.103(7).
Q. If I use a contractor, what guidelines should I use to choose one?
A. Ask for and check references, ask to see their state license. Check the number on the state website (www.myflorida.com) for any state complaints. If they ask you to secure the permit, beware. They may not be licensed, which puts the homeowner totally at risk.
Q. How long does it take to get a permit?
A. A permit application expires 180 days after the date of filing from approval date (105.3.2). Depending on workload, and all required documents are provided, a Building Permit can be obtained within 10 workdays. Minor projects are normally approved, or additional information requested, within 5 workdays.
Q. What happens after the permit is issued?
A. The list of required inspections is located on the bottom of the permit placard. Instructions on scheduling these inspections will be provided when your permit is issued. It is the applicants (Owner Builder/Contractor) responsibility to ensure that all required inspections are made prior to proceeding with work on the project. For new dwellings, once all fees are paid and all required inspections are completed, the applicant will be issued a CO (Certificate of Occupancy). Upon request, a COC (Certificate of Completion) for minor projects can be obtained.
Q. How much time do I have once the permit is issued?
A. Permits expire and become null and void if work is not started and an inspection requested within 180 days from the issuance date of the permit. After work has commenced the permit will expire when work is suspended or abandoned for a period of 180 days. Lack of an approved inspection within this time will serve as validation that the job has been suspended or abandoned.
Q. Where is the permitting office?
A. We have two offices to serve you
Permit Center - DeLand
Open Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
123 W. Indiana Ave., Room 203, DeLand
Branch Office - Daytona Beach
8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
250 N. Beach St., Room 104, Daytona Beach