Building and Code Administration

Online permitting and code compliance. Click to find out more!
Connect Live


The Building and Code Administration Division is composed of five major activities: Code Compliance, Permit Center, Building Code Administration, Contractor Licensing, and Business Process and Technology.

The Code Compliance activity investigates complaints of potential county ordinance violations and performs code-related inspections.
Questions about code compliance?
Email CodeCompliance@volusia.org or call 386-736-5925.

Click to file a complaint online.

The Permit Center activity processes all building permit applications from intake to issuance and scans all documents and plans for records retention.
Questions about permitting?
Email PermitCtr@volusia.org or call (386) 736-5929

Click to view building permit information online.

The Building Code Administration activity reviews building plans for compliance to county, state, and federal codes, inspects construction for consistency with the approved plans, and provides flood zone information. For individual property inquiries within the unincorporated county, email your request to CountyFloodZoneInquiries@volusia.org.
Questions about plan review or inspections?
Email Building@volusia.org or call (386) 626-6591

The Contractor Licensing activity administers a county-wide database, issues competency cards and listings, and investigates complaints of unlicensed activity.
Questions about contractor licensing? 
Email ContractorLicensing@volusia.org or call (386) 736-5957 
Click to view contractor information online.

The Business Process and Technology activity works to optimize business process flows; provides technical support for the department's database, public portal and other software applications; and interprets analytics to ensure managment has reliable data. The County’s online permitting system, Connect Live, is managed by this activity.
Questions about online services or payments?
Email ConnectLive@volusia.org or call (386) 736-5943
Click to go to Connect Live.

Mike Nelson
Director
mnelson@volusia.org

Lori Cushing
Senior Staff Assistant
lcushing@volusia.org

Kerry Leuzinger
Building Official & Contractor Licensing 
kleuzinger@volusia.org 

Constance Bentley
Permit Process Manager
cbentley@volusia.org 

Chris Hutchison
Code Compliance Manager
chutchison@volusia.org

Mary Schnebly
Business Process Management & Technology Manager
mschnebly@volusia.org

Phone
386-626-6591